Movie: Frozen

12 Dec

FROZN_014M_G_ENG-GB_70x100.indd

I went to the cinema yesterday with a few friends and I finally got to watch Frozen. I love Disney movies, or almost all cartoon movies for that matter. It was really nice. It reminded me of my childhood and, at the same time, to nowadays children movies. It’s a mix between your typical fairy tail and a modern CGI comedy. It made me laugh hard, but it could have also made me cry if I had been alone. So if you are a cartoon lover and not too afraid of princesses, you will probably like this.

 

 

General Information

  • Genre: comedy, romance, animation, fantasy
  • Country: United States
  • Year: 2013
  • Duration: 108 min.
  • Main casting: Kristen Bell, Idina Menzel and Jonathan Groff.
  • Trailer: youtube

Synopsis

Elsa, the oldest princess of Arendelle, was born with an incredible power: she can create snow and ice. She and her sister Anna love to play together with her power, but one day Elsa hurts Anna in the head by accident. Anna faints and a lock of his hair turns white.

Their parents seek help from the trolls, who tell them an injury to the heart would have been fatal, but since it’s not the case, they can heal it.  However, in the healing process it is inevitable that Anna looses her memories about her sister’s powers. Then the trolls warn the king and the queen about the increasing power of their daughter. She must learn how to control it before something really bad happens.

Back home, the royal family lock themselves away in the castle to protect Elsa and prevent her from hurting anyone else. Elsa also hides herself in her room, afraid of hurting her sister again, and rarely goes out. As they grow up, they also grow apart, although Anna never stops wondering what’s the reason behind such behavior. Unfortunately, 10 years later their parents die in a storm in the sea.

3 more years passes by and their isolated lives are about to finish as the coronation day arrives. Elsa, afraid of making a mistake, wishes everything will go smoothly… but the worst thing possible happens.

The best:

  • The art in the movie is pretty, specially the ice and the snow sequences.
  • Emotive and funny at the same time.
  • Lovely songs.
  • Olaf, the snowman. He’s just so funny. And he has the same name as my dog 😀
  • The princesses are not perfect, specially Anna, who’s very clumsy and bubbling when nervous. Also Elsa tries to be perfect, but she is full of fears.
  • A kinda not expected plot twist. I mean you may expect it or not.

The worst:

  • It’s been a while since I’ve watched a Disney movie  with so many songs. Don’t get me wrong, I love Disney’s songs and this is no exception, but at least half of the songs seems to be all together in the first quarter of the movie. That was a bit annoying.
  • As my male friend put it, “It’s too girly. This is just for girls.” I love girly things, so I don’t have a problem with that. He also said the movie was good anyway, but he was disappointed since the trailer didn’t get him ready for this. So very manly guys, beware 😀
  • The trailer does make you expect a comedy movie rather than a girly movie. It’s both, in my opinion, but sometimes one genre overlaps the other.
  • Very rush end with a very obvious “true love” answer to the problem. Very Disney-like.

Score:

8’5 out of 10. I enjoyed all the aspects of the movie (art, comedy, girliness…), but the overly used “true love” solution was too typical. It disappointed me too much.

2 Responses to “Movie: Frozen”

  1. aworldoffilm December 12, 2013 at 8:27 pm #

    Great post. I completely agree with you. You are a good writer. I have a film blog. I tend to write about things that no one has heard of.

    • Butterfly December 12, 2013 at 9:55 pm #

      Oh, thanks a lot. You made me happy 🙂
      I think writing about something rare is good. I have read a lot of manga that nobody else reads. But that’s fine 🙂

Leave a Reply

