Anime: Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel of Monsters

18 Dec

yu-gi-oh_81

The story about how I started to watch Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel of Monsters is the same one as in Medabots. When I was a teenager, I watched it because there was nothing else on TV or that was what I told to myself because I knew deep down I liked it. So for the past two weeks, I’ve been watching the entire series out of curiosity and melancholy and finally finished them yesterday. It turned out it is one of my favorites now. If my teenage self could see me now… 😀 Have anyone seen the sequels? Are they good? Since the original characters are not there, I don’t know if I should see them or not. But I’ll read the manga for sure. Come on! Keep reading the review and leave some comments!

General Information: 

  • Genre: shonen, adventure, supernatural, action, fantasy
  • Country: Japan
  • Year: 2000
  • Seasons and episodes: 5 seasons and 224 episodes
  • Sequels: Yu-Gi-Oh! GX, Yu-Gi-Oh! 5D’s and Yu-Gi-Oh! Zexal 
  • Specials: Yu-Gi-Oh! Capsule Monsters (12 episodes)
  • Movies: Yu-Gi-Oh! (1999), Yu-Gi-Oh! The Movie: Pyramid of Light (2004) and Yu-Gi-Oh! Bonds Beyond Time (2010)
  • Other adaptations: Yu-Gi-Oh! (1998 TV series of 27 episodes)
  • Manga: yes
  • Watch online on: justanimedubbed.tv

Synopsis:

Timid boy Yugi Mutou is a fan of Duel of Monsters, a card game he learnt from his grandpa, a former archaeologist who also gave him a millenary Egyptian puzzle that Yugi always carries around his neck.

Unbeknownst to Yugi at first, he is the chosen one to solve the puzzle and once he does so, he unleashes the ancient spirit of a pharaoh who lives in there.

From then on, Yugi and the pharaoh will fight together through card battles, defeat enemies and make friends through their journey to get back the spirit memories, gather the other six millenary devices and save the world.

Characters:

I love Yugi’s and the pharaoh’s relationship. At first, Yugi is not even aware of the pharaoh’s presence, but then they get to be the best friends ever. But the most interesting thing is that they are opposites: Yugi is innocent, goodhearted and insecure while the pharaoh is lonely, confident and conscious. Yugi and the pharaoh learn from each other throughout the series and, at the end of the anime, you can see how much they have changed. At some point, they need each other, but then they are ready to part ways. So there is a lot of that character development I love so much.

The rest of the characters are good too. The main characters’ friends are unconditional and cheer them up even in the worst situation ever while the villains are not always plain bad. Most of them have reasons to turn evil and some of them get to redeem themselves.

Art

Just look at Yugi’s hair. Isn’t that awesome enough? At some point you get to learn it is natural since a very cute baby pharaoh shows up in an episode. So cute, cute, cute! 🙂 But generally speaking, I would say the art is extra pointy and very characteristic, which suggests I would recognize it in another anime. I like it because it was a bit different and, from my point of view, pretty. 

The best:

  • The Egyptian plot is so cool! Mysterious until the end!
  • Yugi and the pharaoh’s relationship. I love to watch them interact.
  • Card battles are pretty awesome and exciting! I had fun watching them. I found them hilarious at times because of how seriously they take them, but maybe it’s just me 😉
  • Filling plots are not as annoying as it could be, which is a miracle.

The worst:

  • Even if card battles are good, they can get a bit two long and boring, making you skip them a times. Some episodes are just about a battle (or part of a big one).
  • There are some filling plots to delay the real end of the series. None of them really bothers me since they were good an interesting except for the Atlantis plot. Maybe it is just me, but I think it was out of place and almost overlapped the main plot.
  • The pharaoh’s voice. It’s too deep. I mean, I know he’s a pharaoh, but he’s still a teenager. I doubt even king Mufasa had that kind of voice when he was a teen.

Score:

9’5 out of 10 because there were things I didn’t like, but I actually really want to grade it with a 10 because I enjoyed it too much.

Leave a Reply

