Manhwa: Boarding House of Hunks

8 Jul

cover (1)If I were to describe this in a word, it would be boring. If it were to words, boring and no-chemistry (can I say that’s a word or are they two?). Anyway, this is another of Hwang Mi Ri’s gang manwha, but it really is bad… Do you agree? You don’t? Read and share some thoughts!

 

 

 

 

 

 

General Information

  • Author: Hwang Mi Ri
  • Country: South Korea
  • Volumes: 17
  • Chapters: 82
  • Genre: comedy, romance, school life, shojo
  • Status: Completed
  • Publication date: 2006
  • Anime: No

Synopsis:

Jae Yoo’s family is moving, but because she wants to remain studying in her city, she has to find a place to stay. And what’s better that the boarding house that is rumored to be full of hot guys? But to get a room there, she has to do a favor to a friend: going out with a guy who turns out to be ugly and not her type at all. Because she ends up dumping him not long after, she pisses off Ji Hu, the ugly guy’s best friend, who turns out to be the son of the lady who runs the boardinghouse and the gang leader of the school.

Now she has finally managed to live surrounded by handsome guys, why is this Ji Hun idiot making her feel like she is in hell instead?

Art:

Hwang Mi Ri can have some manhwa looking decently good, but other are just… meh. And this one falls under the later category as it seems she didn’t put a lot of effort on it. Plus the thing about the white eyelashes bothers me to no end. Or maybe is not that bad and i’m prejudiced because the story was bad.

Characters:

Boring, they are just there. They are not capable of making you feel what you are supposed to feel. For example, Ji Hun’s troubled story with his ex girlfriend does have the potential to make you feel bad for him, but it doesn’t feel true. Jae Yoo and Ji Hun have no chemistry whatsoever as well. Their relationship doesn’t evolve at all. You end up thinking she is better off with the other two guys (one of them appearing near the end), with whom she has way more chemistry. And I’ve felt the same way with some of other Hwang Mi Ri’s works as well and I think it’s due to the fact that she draws the female lead interacting more with the other guys rather than with the actual male lead, which I can’t understand. The female lead in particular is dumb, but her dumbness is overshadowed by the “unfeelingness” of the story. Is that a word?

The best: 

  • Mm… there was that time… no. Also… maybe when… better not. Oh, never mind.
  • Oh, well, the end is kinda original, but by the time you get there, you couldn’t care less.

The worst:

  • So, as I said, this story does make you feel something: boredom.
  • Seriously, no feelings, no chemistry between the leads.
  • Those hideous white lashes.
  • The plot in this story comes as follows: misunderstanding, misunderstanding, misunderstanding… All of them pointless. You get the gist?

Score:

2 out of 10 just for the sake of it.

7 Responses to “Manhwa: Boarding House of Hunks”

  1. theanonymousjoker July 10, 2014 at 9:20 am #

    I am tired of Hwang Mi Ri’s works to be honest!
    I really liked reading her manhwa originally but after reading about 5 or so, I can predict who the protagonist will end up with.
    Plus, her characterization tends to be pretty identical so the manhwa isn’t that interesting in this area either.
    😦
    I like Soonkki’s works though. A scanlation group called Naver, has been scanlating one of her works called Cheese in the Trap and I think that it’s one of the best out there.
    Anyway. It’s brilliant hearing the opinions of someone whose interested in the same thing as me so I hope to hear more from you soon! 😛

    • Butterfly July 10, 2014 at 1:57 pm #

      You are totally right. Her works are very similar. To be honest, I read “Boarding House of Hunks” after reading some of her other works, so I was fed up already. I guess that’s why my thoughts on this one are so negative, but I don’t think I’d have thought otherwise anyway… I did like “The Moment When a Fox Becomes a Wolf”. For a Hwang Mi Ri’s work it’s a little more original and the interaction between the characters is not that bad. I will be reviewing that one soon, so I hope you’ll read it seeing that you like my reviews 🙂 I’m so happy about that, really :3 I also love hearing different opinions, so thanks for your comments!

      Also, I didn’t know about Cheese in the Trap or its author, so thanks for telling me! I’ll read it, but I think I’ll wait until it’s finished because I’m very impatient when it comes to read! haha

      • theanonymousjoker July 28, 2014 at 10:36 am #

        Soonkki has already finished two seasons and is nearly hafl-way done with season 3. Plus, OddSquad Scanlation group has to be one of the most regular groups online. :’)
        (am I selling this well enough? 😛 )
        Do read it! It’s one of the best manhwa I have ever read and it’s such a pity that most people haven’t heard of it.

        The first Hwang Mi Ri work that I read was about this delinquent female banchou and the story progressed in traditional Mi Ri fashion. At the time, thought it was the best ever but I read a couple of others and I started seeing the pattern.
        It was always going to be the dark-haired psycho. Plus, the female protagonists look waaay similar.
        Not enough variation besides the hairstyle which is also pretty similar. 😛

      • Butterfly August 2, 2014 at 8:53 am #

        haha yeah, you are selling it well. I’ll read it when I have time since I’m guessing I won’t be as free as I’ve been until now u.u
        I totally agree with you about Hwang Mi Ri 🙂

      • theanonymousjoker August 12, 2014 at 6:59 am #

        Yessss! I am going to convert so many people! This gives me so much more confidence in my marketing abilities. 😛

        Thankfully, all Korean manhwa isn’t as one-dimensional.
        Check out “Dear, Only You Don’t Know” as well if you can. 😛

      • Butterfly August 14, 2014 at 6:14 am #

        haha are you studying marketing maybe?
        Ok, I’ll check it out when I can. Please, read my upcoming notice u.u

      • theanonymousjoker November 4, 2014 at 3:38 pm #

        I’m not. Flattered you think so! 😛

        And yes, I’ll make sure to do so. 🙂

Leave a Reply

